Log in

Utah society of health-system Pharmacists

House of Delegates

What is the ASHP House of Delegates?

The ASHP House of Delegates is the "ultimate authority on ASHP professional policies." Those elected as a delegate represent the interests of health-system pharmacy in their state.

ASHP grants three delegates to the state of Utah, who each serve a two calendar year term. USHP is responsible for holding elections for these delegates. Our delegates are staggered such that there is at least one delegate with a year of experience (e.g. two delegates alternating with one delegate are elected every other year). 

Link to ASHP's House of Delegates page:

Who is eligible for nomination?

  • Member of ASHP
  • Member of USHP
  • Resident of Utah
    • Note: Preferred practice for 5 or more years
What are the expectations of delegates?
  • Delegates are elected in January, and must agree to attend:
    • March: Virtual House of Delegates
    • June: Live House of Delegates (Funding Provided by USHP)
    • November: Virtual House of Delegates
  • Delegates are strongly encouraged to attend:
    • April: Regional Delegates Conference (Funding Provided by USHP)
  • Alternate delegates are asked to fulfill the role of delegates in the circumstance that he or she is unable to full that role (e.g. - attend and participate in a required HOD meeting). It is a delegates responsibility to coordinate that with an alternate. 

    Utah ASHP Delegates

    2023-2024 Term

    • Elyse MacDonald  

    2022-2023 Term

    • Dave Young 
    • Anthony Trovato

    2023 Alternates

    • Kavish Choudhary
    • Whitney Mortensen
    • Lonnie Smith

    Previous Delegates

    Karen Gunning [2021 - 2022]

    Erin Fox [2020 - 2021]

    Anthony Trovato  [2020 - 2021]

    Kavish Choudhary  [2019 - 2020]

    Previous Alternates

    Erin Fox [2022]

    Jennie Barlow [2022]

    Kavish Choudhary [2022]

    Mikayla Mills [2022]

    Whitney Mortensen [2022]

    Cole Sloan [2021]

    Ashley Ryther  [2021]

    Michelle Wheeler [2020]

    Tina Aramaki [2020]

    Wilson Pace  [2020]

    Election Process

    In late December / early January of each year, USHP sends out a call for nominations of ASHP members in Utah for the ASHP House of Delegates. Subsequent voting for election occurs in early to mid-January. Of the top nominees that don't become elected, they are asked to become the Alternates. Please email with any questions.

    © Copyright 2021 Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists

    The Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists (USHP) is an IRS 501(c)(6) tax exempt entity.
    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software